NLP and the Swish Pattern

The swish pattern is a technique that helps people change unwanted habits or behaviours. It modifies behaviour patterns so that the trigger for the old, unwanted behaviour now triggers a new and resourceful behaviour.

The swish pattern can be used in any representational system, Visual, Auditory, Kinaesthetic, Olfactory and Gustatory. I have had the best results using the Visual and Auditory systems.

Here is a description of the Swish Pattern in the Visual Representation System.

1. Identify the problem behaviour or habit you would like to change – I choose nail biting.

2. Identify the trigger for this activity – I choose the image of my fingers moving to my mouth.

3. Identify the main submodalities – I choose the movement of my hand to my mouth.

4. Break the state by clearing the mental screen or thinking of something unrelated.

5. Now identify the desire action – I choose running my fingers through the hair at my temples.

6. Now create the unwanted image in your mind in an associated state, that is, as though you are looking at the behaviour through your own eyes. – I see my hand in front of my face.

7. Now have that image disappear into the distance as though it is printed on a rubber sheet and someone behind the sheet is pulling it away rapidly.

8. Now imagine the person behind the rubber sheet has let go and the new image of the behaviour you want is on that sheet as it snaps back into you view. Imagine a noise like a swish or a snap as the image comes back into focus and have that image be dissociated, that is, looking at you as though you were on a movie screen demonstrating the new behaviour.

9. Break your state by ‘clearing the screen’.

10. Repeat this rapidly several times and then again every day for a week until the old behaviour is replaced by the new.

This is only mild technique in NLP but can be extremely effective on minor behaviour changes or in modifying an unwanted habit.

Have a go at this and see if you can change some of those unwanted habits.

Dare to Aspire

Leave a comment

Filed under Improvement, NLP, Performance

Leave a Reply

